The Shape of my Thoughts – Eyeo video UP !

My Eyeo 2014 talk video is up!
You can check it out here

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 06.59.02

As I outlined in a previous post, this year I took this chance for opening and presenting a very personal topic, and take the audience on a journey into my personal obsession, drawing.
In fact, to me drawing is both a rigid ritual and a casual pastime, a design tool and a means of expression, but more than anything it is a compulsion and a liberation.
During the talk I presented my practice of drawing and its role as a design tool – to open mental spaces, recognize, name, repeat, remember, and thus understand the world I am designing for at a deeper level.
I’ve been talking about  the composition of abstract drawings with data and without data, and showcasing preparatory sketches for data-visualization, abstract process drawings, explorations of visual elements as a linguistic system for compositions, and obsessive repetitions done with no purpose at all; and dissecting what the act of drawing does to my mind and thoughts, highlighting the aesthetic choices made along the way, unpacking how this casual habit became a sort of physical extension to my mind, creating a loop that fuels my personal and professional life.

If you’re interested in my visual inspirations check my Pinterest Boards out
if you want to see some sketches of mine you can check this board out

Thanks!

About giorgia lupi

1981 I am an architect that never built any house (luckily). I work with information, designing, researching and drawing a lot. I am co-founder ad design director at Accurat (www.accurat.it) I am a PhD student at Milan Politecnico (www.densitydesign.org)

Leave a Reply

