Data I paint with (EYEO speech)

Fabolous program of Eyeo 2013 presentation is out!
http://eyeofestival.com/theprogram/

For my speech, I chose the title “Data I paint with” because I will simply share my approach to data-visualisation, as opposed to ‘lecturing’ on the subject.
I will describe what I do, and how I attempt to make aesthetically beautiful compositions of data, every time, without loosing “scientific” accuracy with our team at Accurat.

(abstract below)

screen-shot-2013-05-19-at-5-57-56-pm

Data visualization is reaching ever higher echelons, and work in the field has quickly evolved. Visual models have been designed, codified and classified, and many artists have developed recognisable styles of communication. How can designers continue to discover visual solutions without rehashing the same familiar references? How can a visual designer find inspiration from aesthetics beyond the field of data visualzation, and bring in the unexpected form music notations, abstract paintings, poetry and architecture – all the while maintaining scientific accuracy in the display of data?

Giorgia will share her personal story and describe a self-taught method which enables her imagination to wander through the world and find visual inspiration in everyday life and experience. This while presenting the work done for the Italian national newspaper, Corriere della Sera, and some other ongoing experiments carried with her team at Accurat. Beyond the process, this talk will offer an approach to creating effective and elegant outcomes while keeping readers’ attention through a multi-layered, exploratory printed data visualizations. Giorgia will share her pseudo-scientific process to develop multilayered data narratives with a beautiful aesthetic, all the while avoiding overly-used visual models and metaphors. The talk will take the audience from first concept to final piece, revealing the background materials, sketches and prototypes, and her method to translate multi-disciplinary inspirations into good data visualization.

 

(background image by Stamen Design)

About giorgia lupi

1981 I am an architect that never built any house (luckily). I work with information, designing, researching and drawing a lot. I am co-founder ad design director at Accurat (www.accurat.it) I am a PhD student at Milan Politecnico (www.densitydesign.org)

2 comments

  1. Hi Giorgia,
    Nice to see you celebrating Stamen work in your presentation. Your slide background looks a lot like a piece we did for Facebook Stories, about virality: http://www.facebookstories.com/stories/2200/data-visualization-photo-sharing-explosions.
    Cheers,
    George Oates
    Art Director
    Stamen Design

  2. Hi George!
    I am so sorry I didn’t properly credit you: I had this indeed amazing picture saved somewhere on my computer (without any reference)! and, my fault, I didn’t do what I was supposed to: looking carefully for the source and credits! I will do it immediately!

Leave a Reply

